RSS

Korean Beef Bowl

20 Nov


I had recently run out of my supply of frozen pork/chives dumplings, which of course prompted me to go onto Google and search “pork dumpling recipe”. What exactly was in this mysterious wrap of deliciousness? When I was younger, sure, I had wrapped wontons and dumplings with my mother a couple of times, but never had I marinated or mixed the meat myself. My search led me to a food blog which many of you may know, Steamy Kitchen.

That was where I had found the recipe that guided me to that night’s dinner. I had always wanted to make Korean beef but the recipes for it often included scary things I usually did not use or did not have on hand like white wine or ginger (grated, too! I don’t know if Asian people even use graters!). Thankfully, the recipe I found didn’t call for any white wine, and I had ginger since I had paid the Chinese supermarket a visit (ginger honey tea called for it).

Korean Beef, based off of this recipe from Steamy Kitchen.
1/2 pound beef, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon sesame oil
2-3 thin slices of ginger, chopped
1 garlic clove, finely minced
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1/2 onion, diced
1/2 matchstick cut carrots (a handful or two, I would just eyeball it)
1/2 small zucchini, diced

The soy sauce, sesame oil, ginger, garlic and brown sugar serve as the marinade in this recipe. If there’s got time, it’s best to have the beef marinate for at least a few hours; if  there isn’t it’s no big deal, but tossing the meat into the marinade mixture as a step 1 buys some time and lets the flavors sink in.

In the meantime, I diced half of an onion and half of a zucchini (I only used half because I’m without my wok for the semester, and I anticipated some spillage if I had too much). I had coincidentally bought carrots (the kind that comes washed and ready to put into salads, coleslaw, etc.) the past weekend as part of my ongoing effort to eat more vegetables. These ingredients are sautéed together for a minute or two in hot cooking oil. Add the meat in afterward.


I tossed and sautéed the meat for 2-3 minutes, or until barely pink.

All done :) I served it over jasmine rice.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 20, 2010 in cooking

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

